It’s just a snapshot

Snapshots.
It’s often perceived as inferior type of photograph.
“Hey, it is nice shot”, someone says.
“It’s is just a quick snapshot. Nothing special.” I hear the answer.
As a snapshot was something of less value. Something less important.
I used to have that opinion for years, too.
But I turned 36 and I maybe I am getting wiser. I say.
But what is the snap?

Ostrava, May 2016

Merriam Webster dictionary definition of snapshot: “An informal photograph that is taken quickly “.
And Wikipedia (that knows everything) adds: “A photograph that is “shot” spontaneously and quickly, most often without artistic or journalistic intent. Snapshots are commonly considered to be technically “imperfect” or amateurish – out of focus or poorly framed or composed. Common snapshot subjects include the events of everyday life, such as birthday parties and other celebrations, sunsets, children playing, group photos, pets, tourist attractions and the like.”

street photography
Ostrava, May 2016

But why to consider it as something inferior?
And what is a superior type of photo? Intelligent well considered photograph? Photograph taken with serious intent? Artistic photo? Technically perfect photo? A photo included in sophisticated conceptualized project?

Edit, today I read a blog post by Erick Kim regarding snapshots. Hmm. I wanted to delete this post as it was already written when I read it. Don’t want to look as I was copying anybody’s themes. But, what I wrote is what I mean. So, I guess, I will keep it here and publish it anyway.

street photography
Ostrava, May 2016

Conclusion?  Yes, I have made mine already. It’s nothing wrong with snaps as soon as the photo brings the meaning and joy to at least one person.

P.

It’s just a snapshot

Leave a Reply

