Lens switch and antelopes

Yesterday and the  day before I was shooting with my zoom 14-42 mm M.Zuiko lens. My impressions?  It feels awkward and big. Camera feels twice as heavy. But it served the purpose. I was reading Don’s blog and he inspired me to make this switch for a while. Just wanted to challenge myself and see differently compared to what I see through 14 mm (28 mm ekv.) f/2.5 Panasonic. My always on lens.

And I was surprised how it differed. Well, surprised and not surprised.

Basically I was going to set it on 25 mm (50 mm ekv.). First find was that I wasn’t able to make all the shots that I wanted. For example with 25 mm I had problem to capture my kids when we were  having fun while walking through the river. Especially my son likes to hang around close to me. Therefore he was often not far enough to let me make a photo. And if I walked away to make the distance, he would run back to me.

But that was OK. I waited till my son and daughter gets further away and than I was able to make shots. And different photos that I would not have made with 14 mm lens. I haven’t seen the results yet. Just checked the photos on LCD screen.

Trinec, May 2016

My thoughts I had during the switch.

…..with 14 mm I need to approach up to 1 meter from the person (or subject) to achieve the distance I want … and people usually hear shutter sound which is quite laud on my Oly…

…..with 25 mm I need to be like 10 meters (not exact for sure) away to frame the subject in the same situation….

I lost like 30  or 40 % of the situations that I wanted photograph. Or more precisely, the situations that I would have photographed with wide angle. I would see a person 5 meters away being aware that I must press the shutter release button earlier than usual, but it wasn’t enough. Too late. But not all the shots were lost. I managed to make photos that I was happy with and I am looking forward to see “digital prints” on my screen.

On the other side I was able to photograph situations that I would not be able to photograph with wide angle. It just brings the subject closer to me. And it abstracts the surrounding. And squeezes the perspective. I felt more secret and more invisible.

Frydlant nad Ostravici, June 2016

Thoughts that were popping to my mind during the switch….

14 mm … is like wrestling, kick-box,  face to face fight, free style, connects me with subject…it brings me rather 3D feel…

25 mm  and more…. is like archery, sniper shooting, abstracts the surroundings…it brings me rather 2D feel…

I even made couple of shots with 42 mm (84 mm ekv.)… I saw a bunch of people standing 30 meters away from me. They were buying tram tickets from the machine on the tram stop. I made a photo and I had the feeling like I was on Safari. I felt as I just made a photo of a herd of shy antelopes next to the water source.

It is a Friday today. The day three of the switch. Actually after the switch. Panasonic is back on.

Note to self: I should do this more often. It was refreshing.

P.

Leave a Reply

