Good Bye Google

This is not photography related, but it doesn’t matter. I decided to do a little (big) experiment. It is the Google. I realized I am too dependent on Google services. Actually, when on Internet, I mostly live in Google world. Google is everywhere. I made a little research of my Internet behavior and found out that I am actively using 17 services/products from Google.

Here is the list:

Google search
Gmail
Blogger
Keep
Google Translator
Calendar
Youtube
Google Analytics
Chrome
Google Drive
Google Photos
Google Docs
Google Maps
Google +
Hangouts
Snapseed
Android

They are great services and products. That’s why I have been using them. Suddenly I realized how much information Google corporation is collecting about me and my life. Google knows what I shop, what I do, what I listen and watch. Google knows what I search and what my interest are. Google probably knows what I think before my thought arises in my head. Well, I decided to try to stop using Google services and see if it is manageable. I know it sounds wild. I already started with this and so far I am doing fine.

All of the products and services has it’s alternatives. For example, instead of Google search I started to seek information with DuckDuckGo search engine. It doesn’t keep track of my search history. And yes, I was actually able to find what I needed! What a surprise! So I have replaced most of the services. Well, I still have a phone with Android OS, which I will keep, of course. And I didn’t delete my Gmail account, because I used this email to sign up to tons of on-line services and need to be able to retrieve passwords in the future. So, I will keep it as a secondary and passive E-mail account.

This is was also the reason why I switched back to WordPress. Blogger is okay. Nothing wrong. Especially, when it comes to storage capacity, it  exceeds WordPress. On the other hand there is no real huge reason why to stick with this platform. Export from Blogger. Import to WP. Done. Transfer of all my posts with photos was really easy.

On the Venceslas Square….

33171406561_333aa99261_c
Prague, December 2016

Paper girl. Paper was for free. I grabbed one.

32456611684_db670c9e63_c
Prague, December 2016

Gypsy boy hanging out.

32916786480_159118557b_c
Frydek-Mistek, December 2016

This is a Rock Stand.

33258736996_84bdcddaf0_c
Ostrava, December 2016

In the metro.

32456609024_a4816dac32_c
Prague, December 2016

Prague main train station. I was waiting for a train. It had 30 minutes delay and I was making some photos.

33171405021_644a2655f2_c
Prague, December 2016

His beard…and stare.

33258732896_6b2d5f9a8f_c
Ostrava, December 20196

Yep, I am photographing you…

33258735876_af7b2936e0_c
Ostrava, December 2016

Bag typical for 90’s. But still used by people. Cheap and takes a lot of stuff.

32456601934_d8e9f1a112_c
Ostrava, December 2016

I already recognize some of these guys as I have been shooting there before…

32916789540_8866b416a2_c
Frydek-Mistek, December 2016

We like to go to ZOO. In winter time I prefer to stay out of heated pavilions, because my eye glasses and my camera gets hazy. I was waiting in front of the pavilion with elephants. Playing with  blur. This was actually on Christmas Eve.

33144099862_38971bb2c2_c
Ostrava, December 2016

P.

Good Bye Google

11 thoughts on “Good Bye Google

  1. Hi Pavel and welcome back to WP! Wow, you managed a lot of googling… i’m not sure how much i’m dependent on google, would be interesting to find out… Love the last two shots.

    1. Hi Yuri, thanks for comment. Google is everywhere. Maybe you would be surprised what information Google archives about you. You can check it easily in your Google Account. You will see all the history and what you have done.

      Yep, I am back to WP. Surpersised how easy it was to transfer with all the content from Blogger. When I was moving in opposite direction, it didn’t work and I had to do it manually.

  2. TERRY BARLOW says:

    Ano, its amazing the Content. Which is Stored on yourself. Could have stayed at Frydek -Mistek. Did not the area though. Settled for Hotel Maria. Privozske. Will be going to Ostrava,s Industrial Museum,s & Sites. Ostrava has a common link with Sheffield. Steel & Coal. Will be also checking their Bars & Restaurants. Plus of Course, Culture. Your Photo,s are Great. Your Blogs are always Interesting & Thought Provoking.

      1. TERRY BARLOW says:

        Ahoj Pavel. In Ostrava, Friday June 30 & Sat July 1. Go Back to Praha Sun July 2. Coffee would be Fine.

      2. Ok. I thought you will come earlier. I heard they serve coffee in “Bolt Tower” in Dolni Oblast Vitkovice with the view over Ostrava and industrial museum. Never been up there.

    1. Hi, thanks for suggestion. I know it exist, but never tried it seriously. I will give it a go. Last two months I have been using DDG. Sometimes, to get results from Czech web, I got to use Seznam.cz . So, you use Start Page?

Leave a Reply

