GR II and me

GR II and my short experience with him. My thoughts I have after couple of days with this little Ninja. It feels, compared to OMD EM-10, as if an invisible burden was replaced from my back. I don’t even feel this boy in my hand. And people don’t even see it. Or they don’t bother about it. Unlike OMD, that looks like a little DSLR, and so it attracted more eyes and respect. It is different. So I am walking on the street, and I am shooting along the way, it is very intuitive, like there was no obstacle between me and the world. I can shoot what I see and it all happens so smoothly. As I was using new proper sharp knife for stuff that I want to cut.

Also GR II is super silent. No loud slamming of the shutter. This was very inconvenient. I got used to it, of course,  but I didn’t like it. It was a problem. No such a issue with GR II.

So it is all new experience. I felt joy and lightness out there. I was so surprised that my photos (thought they are still on my memory card!) just seemed to happen without any barrier. Or, to be more precise, technical barrier. Or compatibility barrier.

So, the shooting process is smooth as a feather in the wind in Forrest Gump movie. And my thoughts are running again. This GR II pushes me to think more. It is no challenge to make SOME photo of a person on the street. Maybe with OMD it was still a challenge. Maybe I was still checking and self confirming that I am capable to make SOME type of photo. With GR II, anywhere where I look, anything I see, could be a photo. Just click and it is there. Suddenly, I can’t just go and click everything to make SOME street photo, because it just doesn’t make any sense now. It pushes me select only CERTAIN situations from the reality around me.

I am very hesitant and doubtful. I mentioned to one guy about this. He is excellent shooter and I love his documentary and street stuff. He said, or messaged: “Pavel, fuck doubts and just shoot.”

One of the best advices I ever got…

Photo below are from Olympus OMD.

Made me think about Bible…

32456603034_92c4e821a2_c

Ostrava, December 2016

I was walking on Venceslas square in Prague. Christmas was around the corner. Punch and sausages smell in the air. Prague was crowded and that was great time to shoot. These guys here played the guitar and sung. They stopped once an a while and said something like : “Jesus loves you! Don’t run away from God. Run towards the God”. They spoke Czech and English, because majority of people in city center are tourists. And than I moved on…

33258744906_eb601bc697_c

Prague, December 2016

I woke up in my friend’s apartment in Prague and took off to make some photos. This is the first photo I made that day. This man was strongly shaking as it was freezing that morning. Perhaps he had spent a night right there.

32456612514_f4e2709f33_c

Prague, December 2016

Can you photograph us together?
Of course!
But than I wanted to take off and those girls were trying to get inside my car as they wanted to have a ride.

32456599204_3955aa9876_c

Ostrava, December 2016

P.

6 thoughts on “GR II and me

  1. Great to see you found your ideal camera! Or at least I think so!

    It’s true, when my Ricoh GR1 still worked it was so much fun to shoot and those digital versions of it operate mostly the same!!

  2. Nice photos Pavel. I totally sympathise with your experience with your little ninja (hey – thats a good name for a camera!) Its exactly how i feel at the moment while shooting with the Fujix70. These two are very similar tools and are made for everyday photography experience! Let us spare a minute of silence for DSLR… 🙂

  3. Pingback: Wait. Are you serious? | Pavel P. – Fotografie

Leave a Reply

