Rose-tinted glasses

For three weeks I have been of the Instragam. I had actually uploaded a photo on Monday, but I was just testing if I can upload photo from my desktop. I can. Besides that I have also uninstalled Facebook and Flickr apps from my cell phone. The idea was to disconnect from social media accounts on the cell phone. And to stop viewing photographs on my cell phone. Because by looking at photos on phone screen, in my opinion, we are not able to value viewed photos. Because, we virtually consume visual content every minute with no time to stop. We are overdosed and flooded. One photo is replaced by another one in next moment. Yesterday’s photo is forgotten, because it is replaced by today’s fresh meat. Visual content is everywhere. So, we are loosing a sensitivity to the content that we see. And as we are loosing sensitivity, we moving towards photos that are more visually striking. That are appreciated and valued by majority.

And this goes, hand in hand, with algorithms that social media works with. Only the engineers /creators knows exactly how news feed on Facebook/Instagram selects the content. How one post gets in front another to reach your attentions. One is clear, it has many factors, and we can’t really influence how it works. And, obviously, it is leading to thrown the user into the social bubble. This is not necessarily bad as long as you want to look at the world through rose-tinted glasses.

It has been difficult, because I had developed strong habit and addiction on  instant presence on social media  through the phone.

What happened after this step?

  • I feel as if I was missing or loosing something
  • I gained time  (a lot of time)
  • My phone battery is on 60 % before going to bed. Before this experiment it would be around 15 % in the afternoon and it needed to be recharged.
  • As a methadone, I downloaded Solitare card game app to my phone. When I feel urge to click on my phone. I would play cards for a while. And I read more on-line news as a substitute for social media. Which is not ideal, because today’s news doesn’t make me happy.

So, that’s where it is now. I am happy to continue with this blog.

Old world
Chinless and wild
Tomorrow will be
Alike

33357946421_2c913fda5a_c
Frydek-Mistek, December 2016

I think people needed firewood.  It makes sense.

32642640714_d82b0bc369_c
Frydek-Mistek, December 2016

On a frozen dam in January.

32642645034_e44e250ffb_c
Baska, January 2017

My daughter (on the right) with her two friends on a frozen dam.

33102758000_cc7972fc68_c
Baska, January 2017

P.

Rose-tinted glasses

11 thoughts on “Rose-tinted glasses

  1. Well done, Pavel! As already discussed on the abominable Facebook I really intend to do the same. Uninstall FB, Insta and that horrible thing called Messenger! Do I have to ‘share’ everything? No!

    When I post on my blog it gets automatically on FB. That’s all. I don’t want to swallow the things some artificial ‘intelligence’ thinks I’ll need to know. When I want to know something I search for it! I want to be free, ass Fredd Mercury sang 🙂

    I will check FB on my desktop, occasionally of course. Fir the rest I want my phone battery to feel good like yours!

    And of course the TIME I save for important things! Reading, photographing….. living!!!!

    I just have to decide if I really have to post a last thing in Insta and FB with some explanation…. I’ll see to that tomorrow.

      1. Yes, I already feel like that. Had some comments, my daughter was ‘shocked’ to hear I quit Instagram and one guy said my daily posts made his day… too bad for them. Perhaps I’ll go back one day but for now I just enjoy the time I have won.

        And by the way, you are very right. Photos on tiny, even hi-res phone screens are just nonsense!

    1. Ha, yep, I checked your good bye post and noticed that feedback. For myself I also left it open. Just won’t use it for some time and see what’s the effect.

Leave a Reply

