Click, Click….Click…with Ricoh

Ricoh is really good for street.
Today it showed it very well.
It was sunny. I was walking among the people.
On the tram stop. Click. Click. Snap mode. No hiatus. Instant shoot. Press it and it is there.
Man with beer and crutches  in front of the pub. Click. Very cool one.
Keep walking. Lovely warm summer day, because it is too hot for the spring.
Two cars almost hit on the intersection. Loud horn sound. People watching whats going on. Click.
Walking up and down the town square.
“Hey sir, don’t photograph us, we are ugly.”…old woman on the bench told me. I smiled and said something. Don’t know what.
Ricoh in snap mode is quiet. Very quiet. It is very small. Street shooting turns to so something natural. Something very easy. Intuitive.
Walking ahead. Old gypsy man. Click. He yells: “Hey, are you photographing me. Go ahead. Make a photo”. I know where he is aiming. He will ask for the money. And he goes like: “Sir, I am Roma. I am 80 years old and I have 8 children. Would you give me some change?”. I wanted to, but I realized that I left my wallet in the car. Sorry, sir.
And I kept going like this. I made some great shots and some cool shots. Street shots. It was easy.

Thoughts in my head. Should I give this Ricoh second chance? Where is the problem? It works well if snap focus is on. Should I keep it after all?
Man sitting on the chair on the parking lot. Money collector. I am standing just one meter behind him.  I am moving silently so he won’t notice me. My shadow is almost touching him. Click. So silent. Barely any sound comes out of the black box.

So, I have these doubts. Maybe I shouldn’t blame Ricoh. Maybe I should blame myself. Because, I got what I wanted and it does what it advertised.  I feel like a little boy. When I was a six or so I really wanted BMX bike that all others boys had. When my parents bought it to me, I was sad. I don’t really know why. So we got rid of that super great bike and I used old one. And I was happy again.

Periphery. In front of the grocery store.

33701967386_cc3a9f599a_c
Ostrava – Hrušov, February 2017

P.

Click, Click….Click…with Ricoh

10 thoughts on “Click, Click….Click…with Ricoh

  1. Pavel, that feeling is called buyers remorse! You buy something and as soon as you have it it seems useless, why did I buy this, I don’t need it…. I know that feeling and often I overreacted and sold the item or returned it (Amazon – sorry guys!).

    Problem is, as soon as I didn’t have it any more I lusted for it again…

    Keep it, use it, It will grow on you and you’ll love it. In fact I thing it’s just perfect for your photography.

    Excellent pictures by the way!

    1. There are more factors. One is as what you mentioned – remorse. And another one – this camera makes street shooting so easy so I might simply loose motivation to do this type of shooting. You know, as I had doubts about street shooting genre and I had mixed it up with camera “problem”.

      I will give it a chance. I used Ricoh today on a family trip. Kids very running in all directions, and the camera was very handy and nice to use.

      Thanks for your words!

      1. If the Ricoh makes it too easy means that it disappears. There’s just you and your subject. The ideal situation and perfect for your beautiful street photography

  2. The guy in the photo reminds me of Hodor from “Game of Thrones”.. what about the photos you described taking? will you publish them? they seem to have interesting content… Cheers

    1. I had to DuckDuckGo (not using that G. search, he he) on Hodor. Yep, sure it is this type. I thought about one character from Addams family TV series – Lurch.

      Yep, I will publish them, but I am slow!

Leave a Reply

