Listen to nobody

I stopped posting to my FB account number 2. That one where I posted links on my blog posts. And previously I uploaded photos, that was also on Flickr.

Not easy step. But I have to.

It takes so much energy to look or check on new stuff from about 600 photographers. Most upload photos very frequently as I do. Many of them are very talented. Actually impossible to look at their photos. I would just randomly check what jumps on me when I open FB. I value the people I am connected with. It’s about this platform.

I still have personal FB where I post about once a month or two…Usually related to my family life, kids…

33930844055_75f4c2dcb8_c

As I mentioned many times…street photos … some of the people had pushed this photography genre to brilliance…as a result… excellent street photos….but it is one of the new biggest clichés in photography today. No matter how funny the moment is. How beautiful the contrasts between the light and dark are. I feel, people could as well go fishing, or whatever.

Well, it was on and off with me and street…but when my doubts continues to come back again and again…I cant ignore it.

I am open to any genre, any style. Don’t want to lock myself in one forever.

33772986922_27be401f81_c

I thought documentary is my way…well, yes, I love documentary… but you need to select a concrete theme…such as “drug addicts” , “life of nuns” etc…what if i don’t have such theme to follow… i first wanted to make up a theme…but it would be artificially made up….make up to me to have a theme….

So, I will experiment, I will make photos, for no reason and for its sake…maybe color, maybe bw…whatever…I am not obliged or glued to anything… i am not obliged to do what I don’t want to do.

33888942506_58f3865602_c

Every time I change style/direction there were two kind of reactions. There are people who would welcome it. And there are people who reacts in opposite way. They are shocked why I do this. As if I betrayed them. Well, it is how it is. It happened to me a couple of times during the years. Sometimes I would listen one group. And sometimes I would listen to other group more. Both groups has photographers that I admire. So I would be easily influenced by their opinion. I will try not to listen now….

So, at this moment I am posting only to Flickr and I am running this blog.

That’s all.

33930178345_e875f17acf_c

Now, I am in doubts what to upload to go with this text…. (you know I have loads of “street” in the archive…let me look.

Ok. I added photos from my trip to Wroclaw. I was there for the first time in my life and I wanted to record beauty of the historical city center. The river. Cold winter morning. When I look at these photos it is as if I was there right now.

P.

9 thoughts on “Listen to nobody

    • But it is difficult when your “teacher” (guy, great photographer I know from Internet) says “you should not change styles very often, change themes, not styles”.

      And it gets even more difficult when you do exhibition, you present your photos, it has a certain style and look, and than I feel locked. Obliged to follow the path.

      I often feel like doing this free style as you suggest. Sometimes I do, but I don’t show it. Or sometimes I even don’t press the button …because it doesn’t fit in my theme/style/philosophy….

      Yo know what I mean. It is as you look at someone’s work, well know and respected photographer, and suddenly he shows something completely different. Something that doesn’t go with his long time work.

  1. Absolutely love these shots Pavel! (i’m not trying to get into your good books or anything like that) and i will say i totally agree with being genreless. As for a documentary (project) i think it will come along, you will know it. The main thing remains is to listen only to yourself while taking into account other’s advices (my opinion)

  2. Take pictures of what you want and sort it out yourself later down the line is what I say. You’re the one pressing the button, no-one else. Social media means other people start pressing the button and not you.

    • Maybe I need a quiet place to think about my photos with no evaluation of others.When writer works on a book, they don’t show each page on social media. You are right. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

