Lawn mower

I have a cheap crappy lawn mower. Old one stopped working two summers ago. I bought cheapest machine I could. It does the work. But it is awkward. Collecting basket is small. I have to dump grass every three minutes. I have a small garden. My wife refused to use it, as it is crappy. I refuse to buy new as it is working. I am only waiting till it breaks down. Next lawn mower will be better. Heavier. With bigger basket. It will cost something. It will be more comfortable to work with. But it be will bigger for transportation and manipulation. More difficult to reach small spots between trees and fence.

Cheap and small cuts the grass just as more expensive and big. Difference is in the experience of use. In the convenience.

After all sickle does the the work, too. Doesn’t it?

Gear does matter.

This photo. On the right building after Roma ghetto. Material from the roof is stolen. Building is empty and completely ruined. Water tower is eye catching monument.

33092939034_fa9598dfe6_c
Ostrava – Přívoz, January 2017

 

P.

Lawn mower

19 thoughts on “Lawn mower

    1. It is written all over the Internet. Blogs will say “gear doesn’t matter”. I said the same for a long time. Yes. But I realized that gear does matter. I explained why in the post. But in a way it is correct idea. Idea that gears doesn’t make you shoot better. Not all cameras are convenient for everything.

      Any mower will trim a lawn.

      1. That’s true, Pavel. Gear does matter…. up to a pojnt. A monster DSLR does not make you a good photographer automatically, but any camera SUITED FOR YOUR TYPE OF PHOTOGRAPHY is good enough, even if you have to work around some quirky. That might even make you better.

      2. DSLRs are big. I can’t shoot with DSLR the street. But for some, it is the number one choice. Even for street. Look at Richard’s work http://richardjamesm.webnode.cz . He now shoots with full frame.

        So, cameras that would suit to one person, don’t suit to another person. Richard would not touch small Fuji. Fuji guy would not touch full frame Canon. Every person has preferences and way to shoot.

      3. Funny, I went looking for a half-frame Fuji film camera last week. Say these two Ali and Scott for example use iPhones and that camera is more than capable of making decent pictures. Depending on how you use it and how you feel with it using it. I think Leica III covers are available for the iPhone for that retro look. But I wouldn’t use anything past an iPhone 4S as it’s post-Jobs and also doesn’t feel right in my hand 🙂

  1. Hmmm, how about if you were sent to a particular place to make a certain project and was given a simple point and shoot. I dont think it will matter what camera you’ll have – you’ll do the project, you’ll find a way. I think its debatable and depends on few things. I agree that you need a camera that works for YOU, in that case YOUR gear matters but i’ll stick to – “cameras dont make photos – people do”. Cheers

    1. Lawn mower doesn’t trim lawn itself. You need people to operate it. There are many types of mowers. If I was given project: trim 1 meter high grass on my cottage. I would have to use my crappy mower. I would swear. It would be inconvenient. My mower has a thing – the engine is weak, when used for too long, or on too high grass, it overheats. When it overheats it turns off automaticaly. Than you gotta wait half an hour or hour till it cools down. Than you can continue with project.

      Till sundown, it would be done. Of course.

      Yuri, you sold your DSLR in winter. It was shooting fine. But you wanted more convenient camera.

      1. haha, you almost got me. I used my DSLR for 5 years so dont think i’m a gear head and i think i qualify to switch my camera 🙂 i do stand by my previous comment thou.

      2. I don’t think you are a gearhead. I talked about selecting the right camera and saying why camera matters. Don’t you think your Fuji X70 is better camera than your old trustworthy DSLR?

      3. For me – yes, its more practical for sure however for another person it might be the other way around… i would say there’s no right or wrong answer to this… i also think that the final result matters

  2. I have no lawn mower, but still have a very, very small section with grass in my garden. The lack of light makes it hardly grow though. I only liked lawn mowers as a kid. Now I can do it, if needed, with a scissor.

    Therefore I like photography a lot more. Better purpose of light or the lack of it. So does gear matter? On my blog I said no.

    I’m however not completely honest. It does however matter, because I use a particular camera I feel comfortable and convenient with. I’m however honest about it too. My choice shouldn’t however matter another though. Hardly to get an understanding for what I or someone else does as a photographer, but not to give another photographer an instant recipe for his or her own photographs. There are many kind of lawn mowers, but what works for you might not work for someone else. You see, I like limitations and work with these. Others might find this very annoying.

Leave a Reply

