Cameras I owned

So life goes on. Winter is back. Trees in blossom are covered by snow. Winter jacket is handy again. Who would have expected that….?!

I decided to make a timeline of cameras I ever used and owned. Time periods are approximate. I don’t remember exactly.

Camera Period
Canon EOS 300 (film) 1999 – 2004  (5 years)
Nikon D50 2006 – 2008 (3 years)
Canon 450 D 2010  – 2013 (3 years)
Sony Cybershot DSC W-150 2008 – 2014  (6 years)
Olympus Stylus XZ-10 2014  –  2015 (1 year use, still have it)
Nikon D5200 2015 (1 month)
Olympus OMD EM10 2015 – 2017  (1 and 1/2 years)
Ricoh GRII 2017  (1 month)

So, this is the list.  I wanted to write it down till I’d forget completely. Obviously I have been shooting with viewfinder for 11 years. And using only LCD for past  4 and 1/2 years. Now, I started to wonder how it is like to shoot with viewfinder. I almost completely forgot. Well, OMD had a viewfinder, which I never used as it was strange, small and ugly. In fact  electronic viewfinder is a small LCD anyway.

It is a different philosophy of shooting. Different mind process before pressing the shutter release button. On LCD, in the moment of making a photo, I am looking at the photo that camera interpreted and showed to me.

33269266403_b4a35d5233_c

I would like to try to shoot with optical viewfinder again.

P.

4 thoughts on “Cameras I owned

  1. Do you think if you’d stuck with film maybe you would maybe still own the same camera (and just changed the film).
    Depending on what kind of photography you’re doing, once you start to wear glasses viewfinders become a bit of a nuisance anyway unless you faff around with diopters.

    • I own two analog point and shoots. They are in the attic for twenty years. No plans to use them.

      I always used viewfinders with eye glasses on. Never any problem.

Leave a Reply

